“Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you” Exodus 20:12

If your family is anything like my family, you had this verse quoted back to you roughly every few days growing up, followed with Job 1:21. “… The LORD giveth and the LORD taketh away…” followed by “That means that I brought you into this world and I can take you out of it, and have two more that look just like you. So you two better start behaving or that long life God is talking about won’t pan out!”

Moms are the best.

I admit, maybe that scenario didn’t play out exactly like that every few days, but I definitely remember it happening at least once every now and then.

The older I get, the more I learn to appreciate my mom. I mean think about it: You have been a pain in your mother’s side since she first learned you were coming into this world. The pregnancy is a horrendous process that all men are blessed to avoid. Then when you finally are born, you spend the rest of your life aggravating her to death. I’m past the age of being a constant pain to my mom, but even now I still enjoy being an aggravation every now and then. And after years and years of causing her turmoil, your mom still loves you more than anyone else on the planet. That takes dedication, a forgiving spirit, and a love that surpasses all other loves.

Moms are the best.

Then we take one Sunday a year and we celebrate how much we love our moms, and we all recognize on that day that one Sunday a year is not nearly enough, and half of us forget about it until they read a blog about it from their church. (In case you are in that half… You’re welcome.)

I could go on and on and on about how awesome moms are (especially MY mom) ,but I won’t because chances are you already know how awesome your mom is and you need to tell her yourself, not by tagging her in a blog post.

So instead of doing that, I’m going to invite you AND your mom to our church this Sunday where we are going to celebrate HER. This Sunday comes once a year, and we want you to take advantage of it by making that day all about her. We are going to recognize our moms, have a photo booth set up so that FINALLY she can get a good picture of the whole family together, and in both services one lucky mom will be taking home an awesome Kitchen Aid mixer!

Why are we doing all of this? Because moms are the best.

So be sure and be at church with your mom this Sunday.

Hunter, Creative Arts Director

