As many of you know, October was Pastor Appreciation month. And honestly, it is probably the most awkward and uncomfortable time of the year for every pastor I know… Now don’t get me wrong, it’s really nice to feel appreciated, but it’s just uncomfortable for it to be on a calendar every year.

Every year that I’ve been on staff here, I have been the recipient of a very generous gift from our church. This year was different. On Oct. 1 someone walked up to me and handed me a card… and then, each day following I received a card, a text or a gift from someone in our church telling me how much they appreciated my family and me. Now, I’m no rocket scientist… but it didn’t take me long to realize this was an orchestrated effort to express your love and appreciation to us.

Right now, I have a stack of cards on my desk that I will keep and go back to in the days ahead to remind me of just how blessed I am to pastor to such a generous and loving church.

picture1

And then to top it all off, Sunday our church body gave us a very generous gift. I have been overwhelmed.The words I used during the service were not adequate to tell each of you just how much it meant to me. It’s hard to put into words just how blessed I feel to be called the pastor at Greenbrier Nazarene. The Apostle Paul’s words often come to mind when I think of our church… “I thank my God every time I remember you.” (Philippians 1:3). I cannot begin to tell you what a difference you have made in my life and in the lives of my family. I listened to one of our sons one time talk emotionally about how this church has always been a family to him. Not all preachers’ kids can say that about the church their father pastors. We are blessed! And I can assure you…I appreciate each of you much more than you will ever know. God has done some incredible things through you and this church and I can’t wait to see what He’s going to do in the days ahead.

Thank you so much for every sweet card, text message and gift! Each and every one was so very special to me. Each and every one of you are special. You are allowing God to use you to encourage me, and for that I am blessed. You make Jesus look good! Thank you for loving this pastor that doesn’t always say or do the right things. I know I make mistakes and sometimes I disappoint you, but never doubt my love for you and your families. You are why I do what I do.

To God be the glory, great things HE has done!

THANK YOU! I love you all, and I appreciate YOU!

Pastor Steve

