I just wanted to take one week out of our blog schedule to brag on you guys.

If you are reading this and you don’t attend Greenbrier Nazarene, I just want to tell you something: We have the greatest church congregation in the world.

This past Sunday, we hit our church hard with service opportunities. We had so many ways that you could help serve, and to be honest going into last Sunday, I was a little worried that we were going to overwhelm everyone. We had over 300 boxes sitting in the sanctuary. Over 250 were for Operation Christmas Child, and 50 were for Thanksgiving Boxes, which we are sending to families in need in our schools and surrounding area on Thanksgiving Day.

(Side note: if you took one of our Thanksgiving Boxes, be sure to not buy the perishable food items until closer time to bring it back: The week of Nov. 16!)

On top of the 300 boxes in our sanctuary, we asked for your help in bringing bags of candy for our upcoming Tailgate-or-Treat that we are having on Oct. 30.

And on top of all that, we had the Gideons come in, and gave you the chance to give to a wonderful ministry that distributes Bibles all across the globe.

And as Sunday morning came, I looked at all the boxes in the sanctuary, and at all that we were going to ask from you, and sincerely worried that we weren’t going to have much of a response because of the bombardment of things that we were heaping onto you.

How wrong was I though! Because at the end of Sunday morning, our church community had taken ALL 50 of our Thanksgiving Boxes, over 200 of our Operation Christmas Child Boxes, given over 70 bags of candy, AND donated over $500 to Gideons International, which will provide over 100 Bibles to people who may have never been given one before. WOW.

I sat in the sanctuary after church this past Sunday in awe of the things that you had done to further the Kingdom. Our church is full of selfless people, who strive to give, not to be seen, but to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

1 Corinthians 12:27 tells us that we are each a part of the body of Christ. We are to show the love of God to this lost and dying world. Because, and you’ve heard me say this before, if Christians aren’t loving people, then who is?

Jesus said in Matthew 25: 35-40:

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

This past Sunday, Greenbrier Nazarene acted. You were the hands and feet of Jesus. You acted for the least of these. And I am so proud to say that I go to a church that rises up to the challenge of service, and takes scriptures like these literally. Thank you, church, for loving like Jesus loves.

And if you couldn’t make it to church on Sunday, or you didn’t get to grab a Thanksgiving Box before they were all gone, don’t worry! We still have opportunities for you to serve! We still have 40 Operation Christmas Child Boxes in the sanctuary, and we still need not only a few more bags of candy for our Tailgate-or-Treat, but also volunteers who would be willing help us out that night! If you didn’t get the chance, and you want to donate to Gideons International, you can do that here. Coming up in November, we will have a chance for you to buy some clothing for students in need on our school district, and will be giving you the opportunity to buy Christmas gifts for children in our area. So have no fear! We still have plenty of ways that you can get involved with your community and to serve those around you!

Thank you so much, Greenbrier Nazarene, for being who you are. You guys are awesome!

Hunter, Creative Arts Director

